Working to keep the area a special place for residents and businesses


About the Ladbroke Association

Foundation of the Association

The Ladbroke Association was founded in 1969, in the same year as the designation of the Ladbroke

Conservation area. The original impetus for the setting up of the Association was a proposal by the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea to cut down and replace the plane trees along the southern end of Ladbroke Grove. Led by the well-known architect and town-planner Robert Meadows and other local residents, including Sir Angus Stirling, later our president, the Association was successful in opposing the proposals, and the trees remain. 

The objectives of the Association are set out in its constitution.


(including Amendments of 1971, 1972, 1976 and 1993)

Name The name of the Society shall be The Ladbroke Association.

Objects The objects of the Society shall be to promote and encourage the following objects by charitable means but not otherwise:

a) To encourage and promote high standards of architecture and town planning within the Ladbroke Estate Conservation Area

b) To stimulate and promote public interest in, and care for the beauty, history, and character of the neighbourhood

c) To encourage the preservation, development and improvement of features of general public amenity or historic interest.

provided that the Association shall not join or be affiliated with any political party.

Membership Membership shall be open to all persons who are interested in the aims of the Society. Membership shall lapse if the subscription be unpaid six months after it is due.

Subscriptions The minimum annual subscription shall be fixed by resolution at the Annual General Meeting and shall be payable on or before the 1st April in each year.

Meetings An Annual General Meeting shall be held in or about June of each year to receive the Executive Committee’s report and audited accounts, and to elect Officers and members of the Committee. The Committee shall decide when ordinary meetings of the Society shall be held, and shall give at least 14 days notice of such meetings to all members. Special General Meetings of the Society shall be held at the request of 20 or more members. 10 members personally present shall constitute a quorum for a meeting of the Society.

Officers Nominations for the election of Officers shall be submitted to the Honorary Secretary at least two days before the Annual General meeting. Such nominations shall be made in writing, supported by a seconder, and the written consent of the proposed nominee must first have been obtained. The proposer and the seconder must be paid-up members of the Society. The Officers of the Society shall consist of Chairman, Honorary Secretary and Honorary Treasurer. These offices may be set aside or combined if so approved by resolution at the Annual General Meeting. The Chairman shall be elected for a period of 3 years. All other officers shall relinquish their office every year, and shall be eligible for re-election at the Annual General Meeting.

Committee The Executive Committee shall consist of the Officers and not more than 12 further members. The Committee shall have the power to co-opt further members who shall attend in an advisory and non-voting capacity.

Nominations for election to the Executive Committee shall be made at least two days before the Annual General Meeting. They must be in writing, supported by a seconder, and the consent of the proposed nominee must first have been obtained. The proposer and seconder must be paid-up members of the Society. If the nominations exceed the number of vacancies a ballot shall take place. Members of the Committee shall be elected for a period of 3 years. The Executive Committee shall be responsible for running the affairs of the Society, and may take decisions on its behalf. A quorum for Meetings of the Executive Committee shall consist of three members.

Vice-chairman At the first meeting of the Committee after the Annual General Meeting the Committee shall elect one member of the Committee to be Vice-Chairman for the year.

Appeals The Executive Committee shall have power to make appeals, solicit donations and canvass monies for carrying out the objects of the Society.

Expenses of administration The Executive Committee shall out of the monies received by the Society pay all proper expenses of administration and management of the Society, and shall use the residue of such monies as it thinks fit for or towards the objects of the Society.

Investment All monies at any time belonging to the Society and not required for immediate application for its objects shall be invested by the Executive Committee upon such investments, securities or property as it may think fit, but so that monies subject or representing property subject to the jurisdiction of the Charity Commissioners or of the Minister of Education and Science shall only be invested in such securities as may for the time being be prescribed by the law.

Borrowing The Executive Committee may borrow for the objects of the Society such monies at such rate of interest and in such a manner as it may think fit.

Amendments The Constitution may be amended by a two-thirds majority of members present at an Annual or Special General meeting, provided that ten days’ notice has been sent to all members, and provided that nothing therein contained shall authorise any amendment permitting the expenditure of funds of the Society on any object which is not a charitable object.

Winding up In the event of the winding up of the Association, the available funds of the Association shall be transferred to such one or more charitable bodies having objects similar or reasonably similar to those herein before declared, as may be chosen by the Executive Committee, and approved by the Charity Commissioners of England and Wales.


The President of the Association is Thomas Pakenham. The work of the Association is directed by a committee of three officers (Chairman, Honorary Secretary and Honorary Treasurer) and up to twelve other members who are elected at the annual general meeting. There can also be co-opted members, usually councillors representing the two wards in which the Ladbroke Conservation Area lies, Norland and Pembridge. The current committee consists of: 

Chairman: Sophia Lambert 
Vice Chairman: Jane Martineau 
Hon Treasurer: Paul Bastick 
Hon Secretary: Anne Chorley 

Kay Broadbent 
Tom Crofts
Catherine Faulks
Sandra Kamen 
David Marshall 
Peter Mishcon 
Malcolm Pawley 
Peggy Post
Nick Simmons
Tony Temple 

Newsletter Editor: Sophia Lambert

This page was last updated 21.4.2020.